About The Barefoot Crofter

Hello there.  My name is Jacqui.  I live on the beautiful Isle of Lewis, part of the Outer Hebrides with my husband John, and James, our seven year old son.   I have three grown-up children - Karen, Kristine and Kenneth, who live on the Scottish Mainland. Both my girls are married and both my sons in law are called Daniel. Karen and Daniel have two children - Finlay and Erin, and Kristine and her Daniel have a year old daughter - Breagha. Kenneth lives in Edinburgh with his partner, Louise, where they both work.  I also have a step-daughter, Veronica, who lives in Switzerland with her husband, Graham and two boys - Howie and Ross, and a step-son, Charlie who lives near Edinburgh. My Dad and Step-Mother Angela live on the mainland.  All of them feature here too at various points.

We live on a croft, where we keep cows, sheep and hens and do a bit of growing - everything is always a work in progress, as we live out the cycles of the year. A lot of time is spent gazing and the scenery, or cooking and eating, but we have other projects and interests too - all of which find their way here from time to time.

At the moment, life has been thrown into turmoil, as my husband has just been diagnosed with a lung cancer and spinal secondaries. We are at the beginning of his treatment with a long and difficult way to go. We look for the positive and beautiful in our lives, and I will be documenting our journey as we go, with trepidation and with hope - along with a mix of everyday life too.

Do join me in these ordinary, yet extraordinary days. If you have a space for us in your prayers, then thank you xx



LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...